Intro: Ward Howard

To quote a good friend, “Lowell let me in on this. If I’m a problem blame him.” With that out of the way, I want to say how excited I am to be able to discuss the big issues of our day in community with these folks. History, science, theology, and philosophy are often seen as separate fields of inquiry, with politics existing somewhere in and between all of those. But interdisciplinary discourse and investigation are where things get interesting, and real thought about worldview issues become especially important. As a Christian, I believe that all knowledge ties together in Christ, implying that these disparate fields are highly relevant to each other and meaningfully relate in a consistent way. In the early days of the university, Theology was known as the Queen of the Sciences– the thing that tied them all together in unity.

I am an undergraduate student double-majoring in physics and mathematics at a private Protestant university where I became friends with the other authors of the Soapbox Guild. We have had some of the most fascinating late-night college conversations together I’ve participated in since coming to college, and I hope will continue to have in this blog format too. But don’t take things too seriously; each of us has our soapboxes, and it would be a mistake to think this is a gold-guilded enterprise.

I enjoy good books (especially C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien) and the beauty of the night sky. I find the existence of our intricately intended universe astonishing, and I want to be more and more conformed into the image of its Maker, the triune God who loved a poor wretch enough to save him from his own wickedness by grace in the shed blood of Jesus Christ, who was raised from the dead and lives in real power.

Any ramblings of mine on this blog are what Augustine called “faith seeking understanding.”

Leave a Reply

