Watching Graduation

Well, I’ve been away for awhile, and I’m probably going to be away for awhile again. But for now, I am here.
I got off the trail, you see, in order to go back to my old college and watch my friends graduate and just to see them again. I’ll tell you, it was a little strange coming back and seeing my college friends again as a graduate and after spending two and a half months hiking.
But, anyway, seeing all of my friends graduate got me thinking about transitions in life again. You see, I will never see all of these people in the same place ever again, barring things going wonderfully right or the transition from this life to the next. However, I am not especially saddened by this, because I understand that it is entirely appropriate that this occur.
We were all from different places, and we are all going to different places as a result as we grow. For us to not leave would be to remain as we are and not to grow. And, as Ecclesiastes puts it, for everything there is a season, and a time for everything under heaven.
But, even more, it was the first graduation that I have watched as someone who has graduated already from the type of institution graduated from, and that was…strange. Mostly because it hasn’t really been that long since I graduated, so I can’t really view it with detachment, because my excitement at graduating is still kind of there, but I still view it with some detachment from the proceedings.
The fact was, this graduation was a right good transition–and honestly, I actually now really feel like I’m done with college, as nearly all of my friends who came in when I did are now done.
I realize this is slightly rambling and seemingly pointless, but here goes.
The road goes ever on and on, down from the door where it began, and far away the road has gone, and I must follow if I can. Let us go into the world, my friends and comrades, bring glory to God, and leave this world better than we found it. Because that is what we are supposed to do.
Vaya con dios, y’all.

Leave a Reply

